Campground Reviews and Ratings

This page has a list of Reviews for Campgrounds we’ve stayed at during our Full Time RVing. The Campground and RV park reviews have pictures and lots of good information about the campground or RV park, the surrounding area and things we did while we visited there. Note that some campgrounds my fall under multiple categories.

We do all our trip planning with RVTrip Wizard. RV Trip Planning Made Simple! RV Trip Wizard is by far the best RV route planner we’ve found. Built specifically for RVers, the Visual RV Trip Planner has the most advanced features available.

Using its unique Driving Radius, RV Trip Wizard can show you which campgrounds will be on your route at the end of the driving time or distance you specify. It customizes RV Safe Routes to the height & weight of your RV. Avoid low clearances, steep grades, weight limits, and propane restrictions. Get your 7 day Free Trial here.

RV LIFE Trip Wizard

Membership Campgrounds

These are campgrounds with Memberships such as Thousand Trails, RPI, and Escapees. With our Thousand Trails Membership we can stay up to 21 nights for free so they are our #1 choice when looking for a campground to stay at.

Try out Thousand Trails! Get A Camping Pass Here!

National Park, Forest Service and BLM Campgrounds

These are Government Campgrounds you’ll find on Recreation.gov.

State, County, and City Park Campgrounds

These are State and County Park Campgrounds around the country.

Military Campgrounds

These are Military Campgrounds we’ve stayed at. Please note you will need to be affiliated with the military and have base access to stay at these campgrounds.

  • Dyess Air Force Base FamCamp – Abilene, Texas October 16, 2022-October 21, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Peregrine Pines FamCamp – U.S. Air Force Academy – Colorado Springs, Colorado October 2, 2022-October 9, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Kirtland Air Force Base FamCamp – Albuquerque, New Mexico March 23, 2022-March 28, 2022
  • Lake Elmer Thomas Recreation Area (Fort Sill) – Lawton, Oklahoma March 14, 2022-March 21, 2022
  • Hill Air Force Base (FamCamp) – Hill, Utah April 23, 2021-April 28, 2021, and April 24, 2022-April 27, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Saguaro Skies (FamCamp) Luke AFB, Glendale, Arizona March 1, 2021-March 15, 2021
  • Desert Breeze Travel Camp U.S. Army Yuma Proving Grounds – Yuma, Arizona January 22, 2021-January 26, 2021 (Review Pending)
  • Point Mugu RV Park (FamCamp) – NAS Point Mugu, California February 5, 2020-February 17, 2020 (Review Pending)
  • Midway RV Park Mid-South Naval Support Activity – Millington, Tennessee November 18, 2019-November 21, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Camp Meade RV Park (FamCamp) – Fort Meade, Maryland October 17, 2019-October 28, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Hanscom Air Force Base FamCamp – Bedford, Massachusetts September 13, 2019-September 23, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Williams FamCamp Buckley Air Force Base – Aurora, Colorado May 6, 2019-June 17, 2019
  • Desert Eagle RV Park Nellis Air Force Base FamCamp – Las Vegas, Nevada March 31, 2019-May 5, 2019 (First Campground as Full Time RVers) December 29, 2019-February 3, 2020, December 21, 2020-January 11, 2021, and April 14, 2022-April 24, 2022

Army Corps of Engineers Campgrounds (ACOE)

These are Army Corps of Engineers Campgrounds that you can also find on Recreation.gov. Note that these campgrounds are built by the Army Corps of Engineers and different than Military Campgrounds. You don’t have to be affiliated with the military to stay at these.

  • Belle Starr Campground – Eufaula, Oklahoma November 5, 2021-November 8, 2021 (Review Pending)

KOA Campgrounds

KOA Campgrounds are usually really nice but are a bit on the spendy side.

  • Fillmore KOA Journey – Fillmore, Utah April 25, 2022- April 26, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Klamath Falls KOA – Klamath Falls, Oregon March 9, 2020-March 17, 2020
  • Mesa/Apache Junction KOA – Apache Junction, Arizona December 13, 2019-December 15, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Las Cruces KOA – Las Cruces, New Mexico December 4, 2019-December 8, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Sioux Falls KOA – Sioux Falls, South Dakota June 21, 2019-June 27, 2019
  • Green River KOA – Green River, Utah May 5, 2019-May 6, 2019 (Review Pending)

Private Campgrounds

These are privately owned campgrounds we’ve stayed at during our travels.

  • AB Camping and RV Park – Cheyenne, Wyoming September 29, 2022-October 2, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Green River RV Campground – Green River, Wyoming September 28, 2022-September 29, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Wagon Wheel Campground – West Yellowstone, Montana May 15, 2022-September 25, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Drift Lodge – Island Park, Idaho April 27, 2022-April 29, 2022 (Workamping sort of) (Review Pending)
  • Fort Amarillo RV Resort – Amarillo, Texas March 21, 2022-March 23, 2022, and October 9, 2022-October 16, 2022
  • Longhorn RV Resort – Niederwald, Texas February 17, 2022-March 3, 2022, and October 21, 2022-November 18, 2022
  • Sunset Palms RV Resort – Brownsville, Texas January 17, 2022-February 17, 2022
  • Yellowstone Grizzly RV Park and Cabins – West Yellowstone, Montana May 8, 2021-October 10, 2021, and May 1, 2022-May 15, 2022
  • Driftwaters Resort – Cameron, Montana May 3, 2021-May 8, 2021 (Review Pending)
  • Blue Cut RV Park – Helper, Utah April 19, 2021-April 23, 2021
  • Sparks Marina RV Resort – Sparks, Nevada October 1, 2020-December 20, 2020 (Review Pending)
  • Days End RV Park – Standish, California June 23, 2020-June 24, 2020 (Review Pending)
  • Stillwell Store and RV Park – Alpine, Texas December 1, 2019-December 4, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Grand Ole RV Resort – Goodlettsville, Tennessee November 13, 2019-November 18, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Creekside RV Park – Pigeon Forge, Tennessee November 8, 2019-November 13, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Crown Point Camping Area – Perkinsville, Vermont September 3, 2019-September 5, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Apple Island Resort – South Hero, Vermont August 26, 2019-September 3, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Southwoods RV Resort – Byron, New York August 2, 2019-August 9, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Eagle Cliff Campground and Lodging Review – Lanesboro, Minnesota June 27, 2019-July 1, 2019

Boondocking Opportunities

There are many boondocking opportunities throughout the country, especially in the West. If you’re up for an adventure, like roughing it, and don’t need hook-ups, check these places out.

Harvest Hosts

Harvest Hosts is one of our new favorites for places to stop and spend a single night between our longer stays. It’s a membership program that invites self-contained RVers to have unique overnight stays at wineries, breweries, farms, and more.

  • Harvest Hosts In our Harvest Hosts Review we document our stays at different locations. Various Dates.

Campgrounds By State

If you prefer to search by state you can find the campgrounds we stayed at listed below.

Arizona

Arkansas

  • Gulpha Gorge Campground – Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas November 21, 2019- November 23, 2019 (Review Pending)

California

Colorado

Idaho

  • Drift Lodge – Island Park, Idaho April 27, 2022-April 29, 2022 (Workamping sort of) (Review Pending)
  • Beaver Dick Park (Boondocking) – Rexburg, Idaho April 28, 2021-May 3, 2021, April 29, 2022-May 1, 2022, and September 25, 2022-September 28, 2022

Illinois

Iowa

  • Harvest Hosts In our Harvest Hosts Review we document our stays at different locations. Various Dates.

Kansas

  • Lake Shawnee Campground – Topeka, Kansas October 24, 2021-October 29, 2021 (Review Pending)

Maine

  • Narrows Too Camping Resort (Thousand Trails) – Trenton, Maine September 5, 2019-September 13, 2019 (Review Pending)

Maryland

  • Camp Meade RV Park (FamCamp) – Fort Meade, Maryland October 17, 2019-October 28, 2019 (Review Pending)

Massachusetts

  • Sturbridge RV Resort (Thousand Trails) – Sturbridge, Massachusetts September 23, 2019-September 30, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Hanscom Air Force Base FamCamp – Bedford, Massachusetts September 13, 2019-September 23, 2019 (Review Pending)

Michigan

Minnesota

Missouri

  • Turkey Creek (Escapees) RV Park – Hollister, Missouri October 29, 2021-November 5, 2021 (Review Pending)

Montana

  • Wagon Wheel Campground – West Yellowstone, Montana May 15, 2022-September 25, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Harvest Hosts In our Harvest Hosts Review we document our stays at different locations. Various Dates.
  • Cabela’s Parking Lot (Boondocking) – Billings, Montana October 10, 2021-October 11, 2021
  • Yellowstone Grizzly RV Park and Cabins – West Yellowstone, Montana May 8, 2021-October 10, 2021, and May 1, 2022-May 15, 2022
  • Driftwaters Resort – Cameron, Montana May 3, 2021-May 8, 2021 (Review Pending)

Nebraska

  • Harvest Hosts In our Harvest Hosts Review we document our stays at different locations. Various Dates.

Nevada

New Mexico

New York

  • Rondout Valley Resort (Thousand Trails) – Accord, New York August 19, 2019-August 26, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Brennan Beach RV Resort (Thousand Trails) – Pulaski, New York August 9, 2019-August 19, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Southwoods RV Resort – Byron, New York August 2, 2019-August 9, 2019 (Review Pending)

North Carolina

  • Forest Lake RV Park & Camping Resort (Thousand Trails) – Advance, North Carolina November 4, 2019-November 8, 2019 (Review Pending)

North Dakota

  • Harvest Hosts In our Harvest Hosts Review we document our stays at different locations. Various Dates.
  • Sully Creek State Park – Medora, North Dakota October 12, 2021-October 15, 2021 (Review Pending)

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

  • Hershey RV & Campground (Thousand Trails) – Lebanon, Pennsylvania October 10, 2019-October 17, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Timothy Lake Campground South (Thousand Trails) – Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania September 30, 2019-October 10, 2019 (Review Pending)

South Dakota

Tennessee

  • Midway RV Park Mid-South Naval Support Activity – Millington, Tennessee November 18, 2019-November 21, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Grand Ole RV Resort – Goodlettsville, Tennessee November 13, 2019-November 18, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Creekside RV Park – Pigeon Forge, Tennessee November 8, 2019-November 13, 2019 (Review Pending)

Texas

Utah

  • Fillmore KOA Journey – Fillmore, Utah April 25, 2022- April 26, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Hill Air Force Base (FamCamp) – Hill, Utah April 23, 2021-April 28, 2021, and April 24, 2022-April 27, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • Blue Cut RV Park – Helper, Utah April 19, 2021-April 23, 2021
  • Ken’s Lake Campground (Boondocking) – Moab, Utah April 12, 2021-April 19, 2021
  • Green River KOA – Green River, Utah May 5, 2019-May 6, 2019 (Review Pending)

Vermont

  • Crown Point Camping Area – Perkinsville, Vermont September 3, 2019-September 5, 2019 (Review Pending)
  • Apple Island Resort – South Hero, Vermont August 26, 2019-September 3, 2019 (Review Pending)

Virginia

  • Williamsburg Outdoor World (Thousand Trails) – Williamsburg, Virginia October 28, 2019-November 4, 2019 (Review Pending)

Washington

Wyoming

  • Green River RV Campground – Green River, Wyoming September 28, 2022-September 29, 2022 (Review Pending)
  • AB Camping and RV Park – Cheyenne, Wyoming September 29, 2022-October 2, 2022 (Review Pending)
Verified by MonsterInsights